Free!

I have not really given the ladies anythign to swoon over in a while, and with the temperatures going down ever so slowly, let’s have some warm thoughts.I don’t know if I ever mentioned this but I goddamn LOOOOOOVE swimming. I even did it copetitively for a while.

There is an unspoken rule that anime makes everything better, and ohgodyesididn’tknowineededthissooooomuch.

So yeah. For the ladies, I found this masterpiece that has a plot that literally requires the majority of characters to be shirtless most of the time. This is totally PG, don’t get me wrong. Though if you were hoping for something more, y’know, there’s always Fanficton.net.

So the plot: Haruka, Makoto and Nagisa go to the same school starting this year, and it’s kind of a reunion from their elementary days, just without their buddy Rin, who left the country to become an olympic swimmer. They used to swim together and like to remember “the relay”, the only relay they ever swam as a team of 4. So what better way to celebrte their reunion, than forming a swimming club?

That’s basically the outline, and we follow the group for 12 beautiful episodes and eventually in the second season, Free!Eternal Summer.

I have to admit, most of my fascination for this anime comes from my own ove for swimming, and I guess without the backgroud, I would think it’s kind of weird at some times. Not only because, let’s be real, they put in quite some fanservice, but also how the characters behave about their hobby and their antics in general.

I cannot really see the charm point for guys in this, unless they can somewhat relate to the characters. I really think it’s either for the fangirls or people that can connect with this over the topic, although it is a great ride and 12 episodes are well measured for this.

My personal highlight: Matsuoka Rin

Directed by Hiroko Utsumi
Written by Masahiro Yokotani
Music by Tatsuya Kato
Studio
Leave a Reply

